top of page

Get Revenge on Life

“The best revenge is massive success.”-Frank Sinatra

This quote has become one of my all-time favorite quotes. To the point where I look at it daily on my phone background.

Now, the way I interpret this quote doesn’t necessarily mean to get revenge on someone who may have done you wrong. To me, this quote means to get revenge on life.

Life has a funny way of pulling the rug out from under our feet when we least expect it. Everything might seem fine and dandy one moment, and then out of nowhere, something unfortunate can happen that you never saw coming.

Anyone who knows me knows I’ve been through this scenario too many times. Now I don’t just mean I spilled my coffee and was late to work type of scenario. I mean going through some pretty unexpected and traumatic events that I had zero control over. The type of situations where your world is flipped upside down- at least that’s what it feels like at that moment in time.

So what do we do when we go through this type of experience? We get revenge on life.

Take that unexpected moment, experience, catastrophic event, or even something as simple as just a bad day and use it as an opportunity to grow. Show life that you’re not going to let it bring you down.

On my second day of graduate school, I received a phone call that they found a tumor on my then 3-year-old sister’s kidney- within days she was diagnosed with cancer. I was at a loss. My life completely changed.

How did I handle this situation? Well, besides spending a large portion of my time visiting in the hospital- I continued to go to grad school, finished a challenging semester with a 4.0, trained and completed my first half marathon, and found my passion for helping others in the health and fitness field.

Bottom line, I never gave up. I used that situation to self-reflect and learn. I quickly realized, some of the things you think matter in life, actually don’t. Some things are just out of our control. But what you can control is how you react.

Everything we go through in life, positive or negative, is a learning experience and a chance to grow. So when something goes wrong, don’t sit back and let it consume you. Use that situation as an opportunity to make yourself better.

Get revenge on life.


bottom of page